About

From the 21st century onwards, the Asia-Pacific region has become the focus of global political and economic developments. The Rebalance to Asia and the Pacific and the Indo-Pacific Strategy introduced by the United States, EU’s EU-Asia Connectivity and the Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership initiated by regional countries demonstrate the growing importance of the regional political and economic security. Taiwan, as strategic hub in the region, is of greater importance and continues to make contributions to promote peace and stability in the Asia-Pacific region.

“Ketagalan Forum: Asia Pacific Security Dialogue” is an annual event which the Ministry of Foreign Affairs has co-organized with Taiwanese think tanks since 2017. The event gathers current or former officials, scholars and experts to discuss both traditional and non-traditional threats and the challenges of changing dynamics in the Asia-Pacific region. This forum is also a chance to forge bonds across the region so that we may promote peace, safety and prosperity through continuing dialogues.

The Ketagalan Forum discusses various security issues including maritime security, global public health cooperation, economic security, etc. President Tsai Ing-wen gives her opening remarks every year. Richard B. Cheney, the former Vice President of the United States, Ash Carter, the former Secretary of Defense of the United States, H. R. McMaster, the former National Security Advisor of the United States, Kelly Craft, the former United States Permanent Representative to the United Nations, and Christopher Pyne, the former Minister for Defence of Australia have previously been keynote speakers.

Taiwan’s continued promotion of multilateral dialogue is part of how we are working to find peaceful resolutions to the security issues of our day. The Ketagalan Forum is one example of our commitment to being an active, reliable partner in the Indo-Pacific.

論壇宗旨

21世紀以來,亞太地區逐漸成為全球政經重心,無論是美國提出的「向亞太再平衡」政策或「印太戰略」、歐盟近年的「歐亞連結」,以及區域內國家倡議的「跨太平洋夥伴全面進步協定」等,均彰顯亞太政經安全的重視性日增。臺灣位居區域戰略樞紐地位,在促進亞太地區和平與穩定上洵可扮演重要角色,做出積極貢獻。

外交部自2017年起每年與國內智庫合辦「凱達格蘭論壇-亞太安全對話」,與現(卸)任官員及學者專家就亞太區域內傳統與非傳統威脅及變動局勢之挑戰進行討論,並透過此平臺建立與區域國家之連結,透過持續溝通對話,齊力促進亞太地區的和平、安全與繁榮。

「凱達格蘭論壇-亞太安全對話」討論議題多元,包含海事安全、全球公衛及經濟安全等,總統蔡英文每年開幕致詞,美國前副總統錢尼(Richard B. Cheney)、前國防部長卡特(Ash Carter)、白宮前國安顧問麥瑪斯特(H. R. McMaster)、前駐聯合國常任代表克拉芙特(Kelly Craft)及澳大利亞前國防部長潘恩(Christopher Pyne)曾擔任專題演講人。

臺灣持續促進多邊對話即展現我們如何以和平方式應對現今安全議題,「凱達格蘭論壇」正是我們承諾扮演印太地區積極和可靠夥伴的最佳範例。